#ReadSoulLit Photo Challenge – Day 13 Jilted Love

Day 13 – Jilted Love –  I had to go with Loving Donovan! That’s all I’m going to say since I’ll be getting into spoiler territory.

“The first section of this unconventional love story belongs to Campbell. Despite being born to a broken-hearted mother and a faithless father, Campbell still believes in the img_2493power of love…if she can ever find it. Living in the same neighborhood, but unknown to Campbell until a chance meeting brings them together, is Donovan, the “little man” of a shattered home-a family torn apart by anger and bitterness. In the face of these daunting obstacles, Donovan dreams of someday marrying, raising a family, and playing for the NBA. But, deep inside, Campbell and Donovan live with the histories that have shaped their lives. What they discover-together and apart-forms the basis of this compelling, sensual, and surprising novel.

A deeply thoughtful novel about hope, forgiveness, and the cost of Loving Donovan, this is certain to be another bestseller from a supremely gifted author.”(Loving Donovan, back cover)

My copy:  Loving Donovan, paperback 224 pages

I’m an affiliate for The Book Depository. It would be much appreciated to click the link below if you’re interested in picking up any of my recommendations. It will help fund my incessant book buying.
http://www.bookdepository.com/?a_aid=browngirlreading

#ReadSoulLit Photo Challenge Day 12 – Favorite Fantasy/Sci-fi

Day 12Favorite Fantasy/Sci-fi:  Well the only thing I’ve read that could fit this category is Kindred. However, technically I don’t feel it really fits, even though I enjoyed it. I don’t usually gravitate towards Fantasy/Sci-fi novels.  They just seem to be so complicated that I can’t get into them.  So, I’ve decided to put up Lilith’s Brood (Xenogenesis #1-3)since a little birdie ;) Danielle @onesmallpaw has been raving about it.  I’ve only heard excellent img_2491things about Butler so I’m going to give Lilith’s Brood a good try this year.  That might be my only real announced reading goal for 2016. :)

“Lilith Iyapo is in the Andes, mourning the death of her family, when war destroys Earth. Centuries later, she is resurrected — by miraculously powerful unearthly beings, the Oankali. Driven by an irresistible need to heal others, the Oankali are rescuing our dying planet by merging genetically with mankind. But Lilith and all humanity must now share the world with uncanny, unimaginably alien creatures: their own children. This is their story…”(Lilith’s Brood, back cover)

Octavia E. Butler was born in 1947 and died at the early age of 58 in 2006.  She was an African-American sic-fi/Fantasy writer that received the Nebula and Hugo Awards several octaviabutlertimes.  Kindred and Fledgling are her only two standalone novels, however she is most know for the Patternist series, the Xenogenesis series, and the Parable series which is also referred to as the Earthseed.  She’s also written essays, speeches and two short story collections.  Butler’s speculative fiction held important themes of community, race, hierarchies in society, feminism, and afrofuturism.  She has long been regarded a must for those looking for Fantasy/Sci-fi with challenging twists and non-stereotypical storylines.

My copy:  Lilith’s Brood Xenogenesis #1-3 series, paperback 746 pages

I’m an affiliate for The Book Depository. It would be much appreciated to click the link below if you’re interested in picking up any of my recommendations. It will help fund my incessant book buying.
http://www.bookdepository.com/?a_aid=browngirlreading

 

#ReadSoulLit Photo Challenge Day 11 -Book Over 500 Pages

img_2488Day 11Book Over 500 Pages  I’ve chosen Mosquito by Gayl Jones from the few books I own over 500 pages.  It’s actually 616 pages.  Last year I read Corregidora and loved it’s story, style, and feminist message.  Hoping that Mosquito is just as good….

“Sojourner Nadine Jane Johnson, also known as Mosquito, is an African-American truck driver. Set in a south Texas border town, “Mosquito” is the story of her accidental and yet growing involvement in “the new underground railroad, ” a sanctuary movement for Mexican immigrants. Mosquito’s journey begins when she discovers Maria, a stowaway who nearly gives birth in the back of the truck; Maria will eventually name her baby Journal, a misspelled tribute to her unwitting benefactor Sojourner. Along the road, Mosquito introduces us to Delgadina, a Chicana bartender who fries cactus, writes haunting stories, and studies to become a detective – one of the most original and appealing characters in all of Jones’ fiction. We also meet Monkey Bread, a childhood pal who is, improbably, assistant to a blonde star in Hollywood, where Mosquito pays her a memorable visit. As her understanding of the immigrants’ need to forge new lives and identities deepens, so too does Mosquito’s romance with Ray, a gentle revolutionary, philosopher, and, perhaps, a priest.”(Mosquito, inside flap)

My copy: Mosquito, hardcover 616 pages

I’m an affiliate for The Book Depository. It would be much appreciated to click the link below if you’re interested in picking up any of my recommendations. It will help fund my incessant book buying.
http://www.bookdepository.com/?a_aid=browngirlreading

 

#ReadSoulLit Photo Challenge Day 10 – Favorite Antagonist

Day 10Favorite Antagonist   I to think a bit to decide who I would put for my favorite IMG_2458antagonist.  It has to be Dr. Kasim from Forty Acres by Dwayne Alexander Smith!  This character is introduced about one third of the way into the story and he is introduced like a slithering, silent, snake waiting to strike.  If you get a chance to read Forty Acres keep your eyes on Dr. Kasim.  I do hope Smith decides to write a part 2 to this novel because it really needs one and that’s coming from me who is really a fan of part twos and series.

What if overcoming the legacy of American slavery meant bringing back that very institution? A young black attorney is thrown headlong into controversial issues of race and power in this page-turning and provocative new novel.

“Martin Grey, a smart, talented black lawyer working out of a storefront in Queens, becomes friendly with a group of some of the most powerful, wealthy, and esteemed black men in America. He’s dazzled by what they’ve accomplished, and they seem to think he has the potential to be as successful as they are. They invite him for a weekend away from it all—no wives, no cell phones, no talk of business. But far from home and cut off from everyone he loves, he discovers a disturbing secret that challenges some of his deepest convictions…

Martin finds out that his glittering new friends are part of a secret society dedicated to the preservation of the institution of slavery—but this time around, the black men are called “Master.” Joining them seems to guarantee a future without limits; rebuking them almost certainly guarantees his death. Trapped inside a picture-perfect, make-believe world that is home to a frightening reality, Martin must find a way out that will allow him to stay dwayne-alexander-smithalive without becoming the very thing he hates.

A novel of rage and compassion, good and evil, trust and betrayal, Forty Acres is the thought-provoking story of one man’s desperate attempt to escape the clutches of a terrifying new moral order.” (Forty Acres, inside flap)

My copy:  Forty Acres, hardcover 369 pages

I’m an affiliate for The Book Depository. It would be much appreciated to click the link below if you’re interested in picking up any of my recommendations. It will help fund my incessant book buying.

http://www.bookdepository.com/?a_aid=browngirlreading

 

#ReadSoulLit Photo Challenge – Day 9 Published in Your Birth Year

img_2456Day 9 – Published in your Birth Year Of course Jubilee, duh! ;)

“Here is the classic–and true–story of Vyry, the child of a white plantation owner and his black mistress, a Southern Civil War heroine to rival Scarlett O’Hara. Vyry bears witness to the South’s prewar opulence and its brutality, to its wartime ruin and the subsequent promise of Reconstruction. It is a story that Margaret Walker heard as a child from her grandmother, the real Vyry’s daughter. The author spent thirty years researching the novel so that the world might know the intelligent, strong, and brave black woman called Vyry. The phenomenal acclaim this best-selling book has achieved from readers black and white, young and old, attests to her success. ” (Jubilee, back cover)

My copy: Jubilee, paperback 497 pages

 

I’m an affiliate for The Book Depository. It would be much appreciated to click the link below if you’re interested in picking up any of my recommendations. It will help fund my incessant book buying.

http://www.bookdepository.com/?a_aid=browngirlreading

 

#ReadSoulLit Photo Challenge – Day 8 Highest on my TBR

Day 8Highest on my TBR  I have to say Close to the Bone is the highest up on my TBR.  Ever since reading Jake Lamar’s memoir Bourgeois Blues  in December, I felt like I needed img_2450to try out his fiction, especially since they’ve been on my shelves forever and I just picked up my first in December.  Close to the Bone is written “In the tradition of Bebe Moore Campbell, Terry McMillan, and E. Lynn Harris, author Jake Lamar has created a riveting novel of three young couples whose lives intersect in curious ways. And the question that torments all of them: What is a black man?”  That last question has had me intrigued since I first read it.

Jake Lamar is an African-American writer currently living in Paris, France.  He was born and raised in the Bronx, New York. and graduated from Harvard University.  Lamar worked for six years writing for Time magazine.  He has written six novels including The Last Integrationist, and Rendezvous Eighteenth, mystery/crime novel, one memoir, short stories,plays, and reviews.  Brothers in Exile was Lamar’s latest play to be performed in 2013 at the Théâtre du Rond Point in Paris, France.  It’s a play set in Paris 1950s which explores the complex relationship between Richard Wright, James Baldwin, and Chester Himes.

My copy: Close to the Bone, hardcover 343 pages

 

I’m an affiliate for The Book Depository. It would be much appreciated to click the link below if you’re interested in picking up any of my recommendations. It will help fund my incessant book buying.

http://www.bookdepository.com/?a_aid=browngirlreading

#ReadSoulLit Photo Challenge Day 7 – Character You’d Like to Be

Day 7Character You’d Like to Be – A lot of the books I read take place in time periods IMG_0285_2that are extremely hard to want to go back to and the characters usually go through some difficult things.  So, hands down the character I’d like to be is Odette from The Supreme’s at Earl’s All-You-Can-Eat.  Honestly she’s so cool – She’s a great friend and wife and when you read the book and find out what else she can do, you’ll want to spend some time in her shoes too. ;)

My copy:  The Supreme’s at Earl’s All-You-Can-Eat, paperback 407 pages

I’m an affiliate for The Book Depository. It would be much appreciated to click the link below if you’re interested in picking up any of my recommendations. It will help fund my incessant book buying.
http://www.bookdepository.com/?a_aid=browngirlreading